genderbitch: alloutoffuqstogive: the-last-moonset: crackerhell: “simple bitch” is aave so is…

genderbitch:

alloutoffuqstogive:

the-last-moonset:

crackerhell:

“simple bitch” is aave

so is “basic bitch” and just about any word surrounding the use of “basic” as an insult

“Is” replacing “are” is almost always (or perhaps always) AAVE, and having its origins in black language. It can also replace “am.”

Examples:

“Is you is, or is you ain’t”; “what is you”;

“I is gorgeous; I’s fabulous”

Pretty sure “ain’t” is AAVE, and even though it’s getting more and more “mainstream” recognition, it is still formally looked down upon, quite possibly due to its connections with blackness.

Hmmmm, what else. These are things I don’t really think about, I just say. Like “c’mon son” is black.

There was an ask Biyuti had about calling someone your girlfriend, and using “him” as a pronoun and how it was set up was as if these two things are automatically conflicting. And part of my thinks this is a white thing, for the example below: 

That reminds me of a line Nicki constantly says, which is “all these bitches are my sons.” What interests me about AAVE is the possibility to refer to gendered insults in a gender neutral concept, while also quite possibly reinforcing maleness as the standard to strive for by choosing to say “sons” instead of “daughters” or kids. Yes, I know “sons” is chosen for rhyming, but highlighting the double/triple meanings and set of values isn’t so absurd either.

Getting scholarly about this….

Hoes/hos/hauxs/hauxes

Gotsta/Gotta: “you ain’t gotsta lie”

“Learn you some”

“Seent/ I seen”

Adding “ass” to the end of something is typically AAVE (exception possibly being “dumb ass”). So: simple ass, stupid ass, basic ass, crazy ass, interrupting ass, nutty ass, generic ass….

Is this only in the US?

I also wish these discussions weren’t so US orientated, as it confuses me as a UK based person… like, ‘ain’t’ is used by everyone, as is ‘gotta’- particularly working class people of all colours. So I’m supposing this can only be a US thing (as also black british slang is radically different).

“I also wish these discussions weren’t so US orientated”

“AAVE: African American Vernacular English

I… what… but… ?

Ow. *twitch*

via Tumblr http://knittingandsljivovica.tumblr.com/post/37123256576

Leave a Reply

